Deadpool 2 Motion capture for the Big CGI fight

Back to portfolio

SPOILER ALERT [SOUND OF AMBULANCE SIRENS GO HERE]. If you have not seen Deadpool 2 yet, then you’d better stop reading this, like, now. Yes, Deadpool 2 is great. The jokes are funny, the villains are terrifying, and Ryan Reynolds (he’s a Canadian, folks) is transcendant, as always. But what you might not know is that the good people at Game On had a hand in Deadpool 2’s greatness.  

And we’d really like to tell you about it. I mean, really like to tell you about it. But we can’t. Because someone who hasn’t seen Deadpool 2 is still reading this. Yes, we are talking about you, sir. Did you not hear the SPOILER ALERT sirens? We are waiting. [Sound of FINGER TAPPING goes here.]

OK, he’s gone. What an a-hole, right?

Here’s what Game On did: A talented company called Framestore contributed a huge amount of CGI to Deadpool 2 (229 shots of retina-searing CGI content, if you’re keeping score at home). When Framestore needed assistance with motion capture for the battle between Juggernaut and Colossus—yes, that battle—they phoned Game On.

We found the biggest, baddest, freak-of-nature stuntman that we could find. Seriously, this guy has legs like tree trunks and a chest like a barrel. We wired him up with all of our gear. Then we turned the big guy loose. And we captured all of it on film.

Game On’s attitude towards mocap can be summed up in one word: WYSIWYG. No, you are not stricken with a rare case of instant dyslexia. WYSIWYG is Game On’s acroynym for “What You Shoot Is What You Get.” That’s our core philosophy when it comes to mocap. Get it in the mocap session, and it’ll wind up in the film.

Also: It helps if you have the phone number of the biggest, baddest stuntman in Montreal. (We do.)

So be sure to think about us when you see Deadpool 2 again. (Seriously, it’s worth seeing twice. There are so many jokes that you missed because you were laughing too hard.) And think about GameOn when Juggernaut and Colossus go mano e mano. And the next time you need motion capture done for a CGI scene, you know who to call. (That’s us, folks.)

Type of work: Motion Capture
Scope of work: Body capture, Casting, Data solving
VFX studio: Framestore Montreal

Need world-class performance capture for your CG characters? Call us!

Deadpool 2 Capture de mouvements pour LE combat final

Retour au portfolio

SOILER ALERT [BRUIT DE SIRÈNES D’AMBULANCE]. SI vous n’avez pas encore vu Deadpool 2, vous ferriez mieux de vous arrêter de lire ici, tout de suite. Oui, Deapool 2 est génial. Les blagues sont drôles, les méchants sont terrifiants et Ryan Reynolds (Il est Canadien, les amis) est transcendant, comme toujours. Mais ce que vous ne savez peut-être pas, c’est que l’équipe de Game On a été impliqué dans ce cocktail explosif.

Nous aimerions vraiment vous dire ce qu’on a fait, mais vraiment! Mais nous ne pouvons pas. Parce que quelqu’un qui n’a pas vu Deadpool 2 est encore en train de lire à ce moment. Oui, nous parlons de toi, as-tu entendu les sirènes du SPOILER ALERT? On t’attend [Bruits d’un claquement de pieds impatient].

Ok, il est parti. Quelle plaie, hein?

Voici ce que Game On a fait : Un studio plein de talent appelé Framestore a contribué à une grosse partie de la production CGI de Deadpool 2 (229 séquences d’images de synthèses qui vous crèvent la rétine). Quand Framestore a eu besoin de capture de mouvements pour la bataille finale entre Juggernaut et Colossus – oui, cette bataille – ils ont appelé Game On.

Nous avons trouvé le cascadeur le plus massif et bestial que nous pouvions, une vraie bête. Sérieusement, ce gars a des troncs d’arbres à la place des jambes et des bras qui feraient pâlir Popeye. Nous l’avons (difficilement) fait rentrer dans une combinaison, nous l’avons lâché dans le studio, puis allumé nos 56 caméras Optitrack.

La mentalité de Game On envers la mocap peut se résumer en un mot : WYSIWYG. Non, vous n’avez pas attrapé un rare cas de dyslexie. WYSIWYG est notre acronyme pour “What You Shoot Is What You Get”, en bon Français, “Ce Que Vous Capturez Est Ce Que Vous Obtenez ». C’est notre philosophie quand il s’agit de mocap. La performance capturée dans le studio se retrouve à l’écran.

Aussi, avoir le numéro des cascadeurs les plus monstrueux en ville, ça aide. (Nous les avons).

Pensez à Game On la prochaine fois que vous regardez Deadpool 2. (Sérieusement, ça vaut la peine de le regarder plus d’une fois. Il y’a tant de blagues qu’on loupe à force de trop rire.) Pensez aussi à Game On quand Juggernaut et Colossus se battent mano a mano. Et la prochaine fois que vous avez besoin de motion capture pour vos personnages CG, vous savez qui appeler!

Besoin de capture de mouvements pour vos personnages CGI? Appelez Game On